Sunday, March 25, 2007

Quod licet Iovi, non licet Bowie... or Jazz on Mars?

Caecilie Norby "My Corner of the Sky" 1997Release Date Apr 22, 1997 Blue Note
Review by Scott Yanow
Danish singer Caecilie Norby's first recording to be released in the United States is quite a mixed bag. At times, Norby comes across as Nancy Wilson, going over the top in places and not showing much subtlety; on Irving Berlin's classic "Suppertime," she does not seem to know what she is singing about, sounding quite upbeat about a lynching. Some other selections are pop-ish (including odd revivals of "The Look of Love" and "Spinning Wheel"), but there are places (such as on "Just One of Those Things" and Wayne Shorter's "African Fairytale") where Norby shows potential as a jazz singer. She is assisted by a strong cast of Americans and Scandinavians (including pianists Dave Kikoski and Joey Calderazzo, keyboardist Lars Jansson, drummer Terri Lyne Carrington, trumpeter Randy Brecker, and, on "Spinning Wheel," tenor saxophonist Michael Brecker), but Caecilie Norby's more significant work probably lies in the future.
01 The Look of Love Bacharach, David 3:00
02 The Right to Love Lees, Schifrin 2:58
03 Set Them Free Sting 4:27
04 Supper Time Berlin 3:46
05 African Fairytale Norby, Shorter 5:44
06 Life on Mars? Bowie 3:40
07 Spinning Wheel Clayton-Thomas 5:06
08 What Do You See in Her David, Weldon 3:09
09 Just One of Those Things Porter 3:54
10 Snow Bak, Norby 5:22
11 Song for You Russell 3:52
12 Calling You Telson 5:24
MP3 192 kBpS


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

Totally Fuzzy