Sunday, March 11, 2007

Crowded House "Temple of Low Men" 1988

Crowded House "Temple of Low Men" 1988

Review by Chris Woodstra
Following the success of Crowded House's debut and the band's grueling promotion schedule, Neil Finn was clearly showing signs that he was no longer happy being New Zealand's zany ambassador to the U.S. While the material on Temple of Low Men demonstrates great leaps in quality over its predecessor, it is a darkly difficult album, especially for those expecting "Crowded House, Pt. 2" — in short, there are no immediately accessible singles. Instead, Finn digs into the depths of his emotional psyche with obsessive detail, crafting a set of intense, personal songs that range from the all-too-intimate look at infidelity of "Into Temptation," to the raucous exorcism of "Kill Eye." Through all of this introspective soul-searching, Finn reveals most of all his true mastery of melody.

1 I Feel Possessed Finn 3:48
2 Kill Eye Finn 3:14
3 Into Temptation Finn 4:33
4 Mansion in the Slums Finn 3:45
5 When You Come Finn 4:45
6 Never Be the Same Finn 4:28
7 Love This Life Finn 3:36
8 Sister Madly Finn 2:52
9 In the Lowlands Finn 3:57
10 Better Be Home Soon Finn 3:07


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

Totally Fuzzy